Small Parish with a Big Heart

History of St. Therese Little Flower Parish

In 1926, Little Flower Parish had a humble beginning in a blacksmith shop converted into a chapel at the corner of North Bend Road and Colerain Avenue in 1926. Soon after, plans were drawn for the original church and school. Archbishop John T. McNicholas granted permission to start construction in July of 1928. The church and school were completed in March of 1929. 

A memorial rose garden honoring St. Therese, the Little Flower, was completed in 1930. Devotion to St. Therese began with the completion of the rose garden and grew rapidly. People began traveling to our parish, which became known as the “The Shrine of the Little Flower” from all over the country. In 1937, a nine-day Novena to St. Therese, the Little Flower drew over 50,000 people.
The parish continued to grow over the years. In the 1950’s additional school classrooms were built. On April 9, 1961, our present church was completed and dedicated by Bishop Paul F. Liebold and Archbishop Karl J. Alter. A bulging school was remedied with construction of the junior high wing and cafeteria enlargement in 1964. In 1996 a new school office and meeting rooms were added to the school and a parish center consisting of a combination gymnasium and auditorium were completed.

In 2006, through the generosity of our parishioners, a beautiful sounding new electronic organ was installed in church. 

As a result of our efforts to continue to provide an affordable, quality Catholic education for our children, St. Therese Little Flower Parish, along with the parishes of St. Ann in Groesbeck, St. Margaret Mary in North College Hill, and Assumption in Mt. Healthy, joined together to establish a new regional school. Our Lady of Grace Catholic School (OLG) was established in 2008 as an entity operated by the four covenant parishes. It is located on the St. Ann Parish campus at 2940 West Galbraith Rd. in Groesbeck.

Embracing the Future, a multi-year plan for future ministry in our parish was implemented from 2010 through 2015 and focused on six pastoral areas: (1) Parish Leadership, (2) Faith Formation and Transformation, (3) Stewardship and Sustainability, (4) Community Building, (5) Neighborhood Outreach, and (6) Communications. Pastoral Council, Faith Formation and Social Justice Commissions were formed as a result.